South Tyneside

Who's who

Chief Superintendent 7551 Ian Dawes Chief Superintendent
Ian Dawes
Area Commander

South Tyneside Area Command covers the local authority area of South Tyneside Council.

It covers 25 square miles and has a population of approximately 152,000 which is mainly centred around the riverside towns of South Shields, Jarrow and Hebburn.

There are well-established communities to the south of the region including Cleadon, Whitburn and extensive outlying estates, while in the summer the population increases considerably with over one million visitors to the coast and other tourist attractions.

Our Commitment

Northumbria Police is committed to tackling crime in your area.

We want to know what your issues are and how we can help solve them.

You can view our commitment to you here.

You can contact us via the 'Feedback' link or you can call the police on:

Call 999 if there is any danger or risk to life or a crime in progress.

Call 101 for non-emergencies.
This is a general number to contact the police and request information or advice.

Text 07786 200 814 for non-emergencies.

Ways To Take Action

There are several ways in which you can get involved in policing your local area: